Keep Your Facebook Account Secure

How To Keep Your Facebook Account Completely Secure

Mahtab

 A lot of internet users have a Facebook account, and within each account there are sensitive and private information that a lot of internet thieves would like to get their hands on. There are times where you don’t realise you’ve used Facebook Messenger to send a message to someone which contains sensitive information. Luckily for everyone, Facebook has implemented a very complex security preferences which will allow you to secure your information to the very maximum.


First you must start with the most vital step, and that is choosing a very strong password to keep invaders away from trying to hack your account via your password. Make sure that you choose a very complex password which have 8-14 characters, has a mixture of different characters such as; symbols, capital letter and letters. And make sure it does not contain any personal information that can be easily guessed and manipulated. 

 

Another important aspect to think about is making sure that your password isn’t similar to something throughout the internet. For example, in different social media account, you should use different passwords. You can easily use password generators and password managers to generate and store your passwords securely.

 

To change your Facebook account password, simple navigate to the settings page on Facebook (you can click on this link as well to directly go to the settings page: https://www.facebook.com/settings ), make sure you are logged in as well. You will then have to click on the ‘Edit’ option on the ‘Password’ section. Enter your current password, new password and repeat new password in the dialog boxes, then click ‘Save Changes’.

 

As mentioned before two step password verification systems are a great way in logging in to your account. If someone you are close to already knows your password for whatever reason or maybe your password fell into the wrong hands by mistake, make sure you switch on the login-approval settings so you will be sent a code on your phone to enter after you have entered and submitted your password. To switch on the ‘login-approval’ option simply go to the ‘Settings’ page, then navigate to Security > Login Approvals > and then enable the options in which you would like to verify your account. 

 

Once you have enabled this option, the next time you log in, you will be prompted for an approval code from your phone, which will be either sent via SMS or a code will be generated through an authenticator app. When you entered the code, you will then be asked if you wish to store that browser/device so that you don’t have to re-enter a code every time, however we won’t recommend that, because again anyone could use that device if they have access to passwords. 

 

Each time you login to your account, it’s also best to receive login alerts via email or text message to see when there was a login attempt. To enable this feature, go to the main Settings page and then navigate to Security > Login Alerts, you will then have to choose the method of alert. If there are any logins to devices that you don’t recognise, you can end their activity remotely by navigating to Setting, Security and Where You’re Logged in and then finally click ‘End Activity’ to deactivate that location. You can also end all the logins by clicking ‘End All Activity’, this will be especially useful if you someone is using your device.

 

If you get locked out of your account completely, Facebook has a great feature called ‘Trusted Contacts’ which can help you unlock your account. You must set this feature beforehand so if you get locked out, then you will be able to use this feature to unlock it, you cannot set it up whilst being locked out of your account. This feature will enable you to choose 3 to 5 different Facebook Friends in which you can call if you were unable to access your account. Just Head to Settings > Security and ‘Your Trusted Contact’.


The whole point of securing your account is to make sure that no one has access to your account. Finally, do not disregard the basic security codes of processes either. If you log-in to your account through a public computer, make sure that you log out and clear any internet data through the browser settings. You can even use private mode so that the browser doesn’t log anything. A lot of people tend to leave their email or social media accounts logged in without realising that they must log out, not just exit the browser. Also, the standard procedures will be keeping your browser up to date and have a very good internet security and anti-malware software installed.


Electroclinic provides all networking and security services such as repairing; infected devices or securing a small or enterprise network. You can contact us by calling us on 02073512801 or dropping us an email at support@electroclinic.co.uk.